Set. 08, 2021
News [ENG]
Makeš is a new TCR Eastern Europe champion

Carol Wittke repeated his victory from Race 1 in second TCR Eastern Europe race of the weekend at Automotodrom Brno. But the happiest person at the finish was Michal Makeš. Despite he finished only fifth, he became a new TCR Eastern Europe champion.

Top six from Race 1 started to Race 2 in reversed order. It meant that it was Sebastian Steibel who grabbed pole position for final race of the season. The two championship contenders started behind the German driver. Tomáš Peka? was second and Michal Makeš third. Fourth Petr ?ížek, fifth Bartosz Groszek and sixth Carol Wittke, Race 1 winner, followed behind Makeš.

Steibel kept first place after start. But Makeš gained one position and overtook Tomáš Peka?. The Carpek Service driver dropped to third position. But Peka? was back in front of Makeš few corners later. In addition, Steibel dropped behind them to third position. It meant Peka? was in the lead ahead of Makeš. Peka? held the championship title at that moment.

Steibel lost more places during Lap 1 and he was ninth after Lap 1. Carol Wittke was third, Bartosz Groszek fourth, Petr ?ížek fifth, Giacomo Ghermandi sixth, Tomasz Rzepecki seventh and Gergö Baldi eighth. Petr Semerád was also in top ten. He held tenth position.

In Lap 2, Peka? still led. But Makeš wasn´t too far. The Mi?ánek Motorsport powered by Buggyra driver had to look also to the rearview mirrors. Carol Wittke already were finding the way how to pass Makeš. In Lap 3, he passed him. In addition, Groszek also moved ahead of Makeš. But championship leader was back ahead of Groszek few corners later. But Peka? was still first and held the championship title at that moment.

Groszek returned ahead of Makeš in Turn 1 of Lap 4. Wittke was already just behind Peka? and was hungry for the move to the lead. But the Czech driver was still able to stay at the front. Groszek was able to made some gap between him and Makeš very early.

Makeš maybe dropped to fourth place, but the championship title was back in his hands few moments later. It happened after Carol Wittke overtook Tomáš Peka? and moved to the lead. Bartosz Groszek reduced his gap to Tomáš Peka?. He took second position from Peka? in Turn 1 of Lap 6.

In the meantime, Sebastian Steibel moved to sixth place and started to chasing fifth Petr ?ížek. Tomasz Rzpecki and Petr Semerád fought for seventh place and also made great show for fans. Rzepecki was able to stay ahead of Semerád. It was different story for ?ížek. He dropped to sixth place behind Steibel. Gergö Baldi, who went off the track in the opening laps, and Sanel Cehic were already out of the race.

At the front, Wittke led by four seconds ahead of second Groszek. Peka? was three seconds behind Groszek and his hopes for the championship title seemed to be little and little. On the contrary, Makeš was fifth and it was enough for achieving the championship title five minutes before the end.

Carol Wittke didn´t make mistake in the remainder of the race and finished season in a best possible way. He won both races in Brno and also secured overall third place. Bartosz Groszek crossed the line as second and he had to settle for fourth place in overall standings. Tomáš Peka? finished third but it wasn´t enough for deleting of Makeš´s championship lead. Although the Mi?ánek Motorsport powered by Buggyra driver dropped fourth place because he was overtaken by Steibel and finished fifth in the end, he could celebrate the championship title at the finish. He defeated Peka? by only four points.

Sixth Petr ?ížek, seventh Petr Semerád, eighth Tomasz Rzepecki, ninth Fra?o Dubreta and tenth Giacomo Ghermandi also took points. It was first two points in TCR Eastern Europe for Dubreta. Ghermandi scored one point despite he probably collided with Adámek out of the reach of TV cameras. Both Ghermandi and Adámek went off the track and didn´t cross the line.

You can also check our Facebook for more news

Our partners & clients

TCR Europe
24h Nurburgring
GT4 South Series
FPAK Open Velocidade
QF Lda
Race Tyres International . 2022 | All rights reserved.